Home > Academic Divisions > Division of Humanities > English
Printer Friendly Version

English

Good reading and writing skills are essential for academic and professional success. English is one of the top majors for pre-law students and future educators. An English degree can also lead to a career in editing, copywriting, technical writing, public relations, and more. Georgia Highlands College offers English courses in composition, creative writing, and literature.

Composition I (ENGL 1101) and Composition II (ENGL 1102) offer students the opportunity to improve their English grammar, hone research and essay writing skills,  and  begin an exploration of literature and literary analysis. These courses are part of Area A of the Core Curriculum.  Literature courses, including World Literature I & II, British Literature I & II, American Literature I & II, and African-American Literature, expose students to a variety of cultures and ideas via the written word. They facilitate both creative and critical thinking and reinforce writing skills acquired in Composition I & II.  Any of these courses can be used to satisfy the  Area C  literature survey requirement.

For students interested in creative writing, Creative Writing I &II can be used as a Humanities electives or to fulfill area F requirements in several majors. Students may also submit their work for possible publication in GHC’s literary magazine, Old Red Kimono. The ORK features writings and artwork of GHC students and sponsors the annual Paris Lake Poetry Contest.

English Faculty:

NamePrimary CampusOfficePhoneEmailWebsite
Michelle Abbott Paulding  P406  678-946-1017  mabbott@highlands.edu  Website
Nancy Applegate Floyd  F-170  706-368-7702  napplega@highlands.edu  Website
Jesse Bishop Cartersville  327  678-872-8093  jebishop@highlands.edu  Website
Rick Bombard Marietta  230  678-872-8532  rbombard@highlands.edu  Website
Cynthia Davidson Cartersville  311  706-368-7639  cdavidso@highlands.edu  Website
Leslie Johnston Cartersville  311  678-872-8116  ljohnsto@highlands.edu  Website
Kristie Kemper Floyd  F-136  706-368-7626  kkemper@highlands.edu  Website
Jeffrey Kozee Cartersville  215  678-872-8079  jkozee@highlands.edu  Website
John Kwist Paulding  409  678-946-1033  jkwist@highlands.edu  Website
Jessica Lindberg Cartersville  311A  706-346-9135  jlindber@highlands.edu  Website
Frank Minor Floyd  F-169  706-368-7634  fminor@highlands.edu  Website
Carla Patterson Floyd  F-162  706-368-7625  cpatters@highlands.edu  Website
Jacob Sullins Cartersville  N228  678-872-8532  jsullins@highlands.edu  Website
Rachel Wall Cartersville  213  678-872-8051  rwall@highlands.edu  Website
Cindy Wheeler Floyd  F-166  706-295-6307  cwheeler@highlands.edu  Website
Page last updated: December 9, 2010